Amazing Muharram 2024 – When is Muharram 2024 (Al-Hijra) celebrated and what is it about?

Muharram (Arabic: المحرّم) sometimes also refered as Al-Hijra  is the first month of the Islamic calendar. It is one of the four sacred months of the year. The Islamic calendar is a lunar calendar, so  it moves from year to year when compared with the Gregorian calendar, which is solar based.

What does Muharram stand for?

 The word “Muharram” means “Forbidden” and it is derived from the word harām, meaning “sinful” and held to be the most sacred of all the months, excluding Ramadan. Some Muslims fast during these days. The tenth day of Muharram is the Day of Ashura, which to Shia Muslims is part of the Mourning of Muharram.

Dates and Weekday when Muharram starts and ends for the year 2024

Dates for 2024 (Hijri 1446)

  • Muharram 2024 will start on Saturday, the 6th of July and last until Monday, the 5th of August

Previous Dates for Muharram

  • Muharram 2016 started on  Saturday, 1 October 2016 and lasted till  Sunday, the 30th of October 2016.
  • Muharram 2015 started on Wednesday, 14 October 2015 and lasted till Thursday, 12 November 2015
    Islamic Calender 1437
  • Muharram 2014: Saturday, 25 October 2014 and lasts till Saturday, 22 November 2014
    Islamic Calender 1436

Dates provided based on the Umm al-Qura calendar of Saudi Arabia

Here is a list of the  12 months of the Islamic Calender, with Name and Meaning

  1. Muḥarram (مُحَرَّم) Meaning: forbidden
  2. Ṣafar (صَفَر) Meaning: void
  3. Rabī‘ al-awwal (رَبيع الأوّل) Meaning: the first spring
  4. Rabī‘ ath-thānī (رَبيع الثاني) Meaning: the second spring
  5. Jumādá al-ūlá (جُمادى الأولى) Meaning: the first of parched land
  6. Jumādá al-ākhirah (جُمادى الآخرة) Meaning: the last of parched land
  7. Rajab (رَجَب) Meaning: respect, honour
  8. Sha‘bān (شَعْبان) Meaning: scattered
  9. Ramaḍān (رَمَضان) Meaning: burning heat
  10. Shawwāl (شَوّال) Meaning: raised
  11. Dhū al-Qa‘dah (ذو القعدة) Meaning: the one of truce/sitting
  12. Dhū al-Ḥijjah (ذو الحجة) Meaning: the one of pilgrimage

The Islamic calendar, also known as the Hijri or Lunar calendar, is a significant element of Muslim culture and religious practice, marking time differently from the Gregorian calendar widely used in the West. Rooted in religious history, it consists of 12 months but, unlike the Gregorian calendar, it is based on the moon’s cycles, making it approximately 11 days shorter than the 365-day solar year.

The calendar’s origin traces back to 622 CE, a pivotal moment in Islamic history known as the Hijra, when Prophet Muhammad migrated from Mecca to Medina. This event not only marked the beginning of the Islamic community but also the starting point of the Islamic calendar.

Embracing a lunar rhythm, the Islamic calendar is not just a method of marking time but a symbol of the Islamic faith’s deep connection with the cosmos. It serves as a constant reminder of the historical journey and spiritual ethos that shape the lives of Muslims worldwide.