Public Holidays Nigeria 2024

List of Public and National Holidays for Nigeria in the year 2024

  • 1 January (Monday) – New Year’s Day
  • 29 March (Friday) – Good Friday
  • 1 April (Monday) – Easter Monday
  • 10 April (Wednesday) – Id el Fitri
  • 11 April (Thursday) – Id el Fitri Holiday
  • 1 May (Wednesday) – Labour Day
  • 12 June (Wednesday) – Democracy Day
  • 16 June (Sunday) – Id el Kabir
  • 17 June (Monday) – Id el Kabir Holiday
  • 15 September (Sunday) – Id el Maulud
  • 1 October (Tuesday) – National Day
  • 25 December (Wednesday) – Christmas Day
  • 26 December (Thursday) – Boxing Day

Geographical Information:

  1. Location: Nigeria is located in West Africa and shares borders with Benin, Niger, Chad, Cameroon, and the Gulf of Guinea to the south.
  2. Land Area: Nigeria is the 32nd largest country in the world by land area, covering approximately 923,768 square kilometers.
  3. Coastline: Nigeria has a coastline along the Gulf of Guinea, spanning over 850 kilometers.
  4. Topography: The country’s landscape is diverse, including plateaus, lowlands, mountains, and coastal areas. Notable are the Jos Plateau, Adamawa Plateau, and the Niger Delta.
  5. Rivers: Nigeria is intersected by several major rivers, including the Niger and Benue Rivers, which converge and form a distinctive Y-shaped confluence.
  6. Natural Resources: Nigeria is rich in natural resources, including oil, natural gas, coal, tin, limestone, iron ore, and fertile agricultural land.
  7. Vegetation: Nigeria’s vegetation ranges from rainforests in the south to savannas in the central and northern regions.
  8. Biodiversity: The country is known for its rich biodiversity, with diverse flora and fauna. It’s home to various species of mammals, birds, reptiles, and plant life.
  9. Lakes: Nigeria has several lakes, including Lake Chad, which is shared with neighboring countries.
  10. Islands: There are various islands off the coast of Nigeria, including Bonny Island, which is known for its significance in the oil and gas industry.

Climate Information:

  1. Climate Zones: Nigeria has diverse climate zones due to its vast size. It experiences a tropical climate in the south, transitioning to a more arid climate in the north.
  2. Rainy Season: The country has a distinct wet season and dry season. The rainy season generally lasts from April to October.
  3. Harmattan: The Harmattan is a dry, dusty wind that blows from the Sahara Desert, affecting the northern parts of Nigeria from November to March.
  4. Temperature: Nigeria generally experiences high temperatures, with the hottest months typically between March and May.
  5. Humidity: The coastal areas, particularly in the Niger Delta, can be quite humid, especially during the rainy season.
  6. Variation in Rainfall: Rainfall patterns vary widely across Nigeria. The southern regions receive more rainfall compared to the arid northern regions.
  7. Desertification: Northern Nigeria faces challenges related to desertification and soil degradation due to factors like prolonged droughts.
  8. Climatic Zones: Nigeria can be broadly divided into four climatic zones: Equatorial, Tropical, Sudan, and Sahel zones.
  9. Rainforest: The southern part of Nigeria, particularly in the Niger Delta region, is characterized by lush rainforests.
  10. Climate Change Challenges: Nigeria, like many other countries, is grappling with the impacts of climate change, including more frequent and severe weather events, rising temperatures, and shifts in rainfall patterns.

Keep in mind that Nigeria’s climate and geographical features can be diverse, and local conditions may vary. These facts provide a general overview of the country’s geographical and climatic characteristics.

1 thought on “Public Holidays Nigeria 2024”

Comments are closed.